August 2nd - Annual GLT Day

A Global Celebration of Golden Lion Tamarin Conservation!

 

Thank you for helping us celebrate GLT Day 2018! Check this page for details about GLT Day 2019.

 

This Thursday, August 2nd, 2018, join us for a Facebook Live Transmission in English from the rainforest in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil!

facebook.com/associacaomicoleaodourado

Thursday, August 2nd, 2018

10-11AM Rio de Janeiro time

3PM Central European Summer Time - CEST;  2PM British Summer Time;  9AM Eastern Daylight Time; 8AM Central Daylight Time; 7AM Mountain Daylight Time; 6AM Pacific Daylight Time 

Have your questions ready for researchers and local children as they follow golden lion tamarins in their rainforest habitat in Rio de Janeiro!

 

Breaking News - August 1st, 2018

 

Today at the Brazilian National Protected Areas Congress in Florianopolis, José Pedro de Oliveira Costa, Biodiversity Secretary of Brazil’s Ministry for the Environment, announced that August 2 is now officially National Golden Lion Tamarin Day in Brazil!

Here is the text of the official publication in the Diário Oficial:
SECRETARIA DE BIODIVERSIDADE
PORTARIA Nº 2, DE 30 DE JULHO DE 2018

O SECRETÁRIO DE BIODIVERSIDADE do Ministério do Meio Ambiente, no uso das atribuições que lhe confere a Portaria 483, de 22 de dezembro de 2017, publicada no Diário Oficial da União de 27 de dezembro de 2017, seção 1, página 24-25-144;

Considerando a importância do Programa de Proteção do Mico-Leão-Dourado (Leontopithecus rosalia) como exemplo de salvamento de uma espécie ameaçada de extinção:
Considerando reinvindicação de primatólogos que trabalham na proteção desse rico animal, resolve:
Art. 1º - Fica instituído o dia 02 de agosto como o "Dia do Mico-Leão-Dourado".
Art. 2º - Esta Portaria entra em vigor na data de sua publicação.
JOSÉ PEDRO DE OLIVEIRA COSTA

“In recognition of the importance of the Program for the Protection of the GLT as an example of saving an endangered species and considering recognition of the primatologists that work for the protection of this animal ….”

 

How did our Interntational GLT Day start?

 

Golden Lion Tamarin Day – August 2, 2016 - view or download the video!

One of AMLD’s strategies to engage the local community in GLT conservation is to increase pride in the local forest and recognition that GLTs exist nowhere else in the world.  On August 2, 2016, Andreia Martins, coordinator of the field team who monitors GLTs, carried the Olympic Flame through the region on its way to the Rio Olympic Games. 

With local schools and businesses AMLD organized a celebration in Silva Jardim, Andreia’s home town, recognizing Andreia and her field team as local heroes.  The Silva Jardim Municipal Council officially recognized August 2, 2016 as “Dia do Mico-Leão-Dourado” (Golden Lion Tamarin Day). AMLD and SGLT started celebrating International GLT Day the following year on August 2nd, 2017. 

AMLD invites supporters around the world to join the community of Silva Jardim in this annual celebration of conservation.    

 

2017 Brazilian Zoo Society's Year of the Golden Lion Tamarin - view or download the video!

Produced in 2017 for use in a year-long educational campaign conducted by Brazilian Zoos, this film summarizes the history of golden lion tamarin conservation, current challenges, and conservation action.